History of UCLA Emergency Medicine

In 1974, Dean Sherman Mellinkoff appointed a committee, chaired by Dr. William Longmire, that created the UCLA Emergency Medicine Center (EMC) in 1975. After a national search, Dr. Charles McElroy was selected as the first Director of the new EMC. The original seven full-time EM faculty included Charles R McElroy (Chief), Harvey Meislin (First Residency Director), Larry J Baraff, James T LeMay, Marie Kuhn, Ronald Busuttil, and F. Kristian Storm.

1979 Residency
UCLA EM Residency Photo 1979, faculty (F) and residents (R)
Back row L to R: Charles McElroy (F), Steven Pohl (R), Richard Schwab (R), Jerome Hoffman (R), Marie Kuhn (F), Larry Baraff (F), David Kalmanson (F). Front row L to R: Gar LaSalle (R), Mark Jergans (F), Jay Kahn (R), Larry Jellinek (R), Jill Ferguson (R), Steven Dresnick (R), Charlotte Yeh (R), Harvey Meislin (F)

The UCLA Emergency Medicine Residency accepted its first two classes in 1978 in a PGY 2-3 format. The residency program transitioned to a PGY 2-4 program in 1989 and PGY 1-4 in 2008. Over a nearly 40-year program history, our EM Residency Directors include: Harvey Meislin, David Orban, Jerome Hoffman, Sidney Starkman, Robert Galli, Pamela Dyne ,Scott Votey, and as of October 2016, Rebecca Bavolek.

Important Milestones:

    1974 Designation as a Paramedic Base Station
    1975 Dean Mellinkoff establishes the Emergency Medicine Center
    1978 UCLA Emergency Medicine Residency begins
    1980 Founding of the UCLA Emergency Medicine Research Fellowship
    1982 Designation as a Pediatric Emergency Room (EDAP)
    1984 Designation as a Level 1 Trauma Center
    1985 Combined UCLA-Olive View EM Residency
    1988 Founding of the Center for Prehospital Care
    2005 Designation as a Primary Stroke Center
    2007 Designation as a STEMI Receiving Center
    2008 Move to the new Ronald Regan UCLA Medical Center
    2016 UCLA Department of Emergency Medicine established July 1, 2016

Dr. Marshall T. Morgan became the Chief of the EMC in 1981 and held this post until 2015. On July 1, 2016, the David Geffen School of Medicine (DGSOM) at UCLA established the UCLA Department of Emergency Medicine, and named Dr. Gregory W. Hendey its inaugural chair. The department includes over 80 emergency medicine faculty at five sites: Ronald Reagan UCLA Medical Center in Westwood, Olive View-UCLA Medical Center, Harbor-UCLA Medical Center, Kern Medical Center in Bakersfield, and the West Los Angeles VA Medical Center.

The UCLA Department of Emergency Medicine now has three ACGME-approved emergency medicine residency training programs: Ronald Reagan UCLA/Olive View-UCLA, Harbor-UCLA, and Kern Medical Center. All are PGY 1-4 programs with a total 136 emergency medicine residents. The three programs have trained almost 1,000 emergency physicians. A large number of graduates of have chosen careers in academic medicine at the country’s most prestigious medical schools.

Center for Prehospital Care

The Center for Prehospital Care (CPC) is one of the world’s leading institutions for EMS education and research. With 20 full-time faculty and staff and more than 100 part-time instructors, the CPC educates nearly 20,000 students annually in over 600 courses including Basic and Advanced Cardiac Life Support, Pediatric Advanced Life Support, and Paramedic and EMT continuing medical education. These programs are provided to some of the largest and most innovative fire departments, hospitals, EMS and law enforcement agencies in the country.

National Leadership

A number of UCLA faculty in Westwood and Olive View have served on the editorial board of the Annals of Emergency Medicine, the major emergency medicine peer-reviewed journal in the US and worldwide. Larry Baraff was the Pediatrics section editor for many years, David Schriger is a Deputy Editor, Greg Moran and David Talan are Associate Editors, Bill Mower and Greg Hendey are Decision Editors, and Richelle Cooper is a Research Methodology Editor. Dave Talan and Greg Moran have served on Infectious Diseases Society of America consensus panels. Pam Dyne is a past President of the Emergency Medicine Council of Residency Directors. Larry Baraff served 2 terms on the Board of Directors of the American College of Emergency Physicians (ACEP), and is a past President of the California Chapter. He and James Seidel (Harbor-Pediatrics) created the Emergency Care for Children initiative which led to the creation of Emergency Departments Approved for Pediatrics and Pediatric Critical Care Centers in Los Angeles and across the United States. The UCLA EM faculty are responsible for several important lines of research including innovative approaches to acute cerebrovascular disease, medical education, NEXUS clinical decision rules, behavioral health issues, acute infectious disease surveillance, pediatric fever guidelines, and global health.