Skip to main content
Profile Image

Melissa "Missy" Brown, M.D.

Professional Title
Leadership Position

Professional Education

Medical School

Medical School
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill School of Medicine

Graduate School

Graduate School
UNC Gillings School of Global Public Health

Undergraduate School

Undergraduate School
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill



Asheville, NC



Hiking and running with my dog, travel, reading, soccer, baking, taekwondo (2nd-degree black belt), tennis

Areas of Interests:
Admin/QI, Global Health, Health Policy, Medical Education, Research, Social Emergency Medicine/Advocacy, Ultrasound, Wellness

Instagram: @missyannebrown


Why did you choose UCLA for Residency?

I chose UCLA for the people I met during interview day and the social, the split between an academic and county setting, the LA population, and unparalleled opportunities to explore my interests within EM. The LA weather/outdoorsy things to do didn't hurt, either.


What is your favorite place to visit/thing(s) to do in/memory from living in LA? If you have never lived here before, what are you most excited about?

I'm excited to spend time at the beach, re-learn to surf, and explore the local parks and trails.


What do you do in your free time? What hobbies do you have? 

I really enjoy spending time with friends and being outside, so I try to combine the two as much as possible. I grew up hiking, mountain biking, and water skiing in a beautiful part of North Carolina. I love kicking around a ball, swimming, and racquetball, but will happily try any sport with way more enthusiasm than ability. During the pandemic I've become addicted to the Peloton app, am baking a lot, and am finally making progress on my reading list.


What are your areas of interest within EM or future career plans? 

social emergency medicine, medical education, administration


What is your go-to song to get pumped up on shift?

Stronger by Britney Spears or Believe by Cher


Any hidden talent(s)?

I'm a 2nd degree black belt in Taekwondo!


Where would we find you if not in the department (ie. couch, beach, wilderness, climbing, etc.)?

Outside - 50/50 chance it's beach or mountains